Posted by: charityliz | December 18, 2010

Don’t let the rain stop you

Usually I think of myself as someone who tries to live life to the fullest and appreciate whatever opportunities for adventure I can find…but I have to admit that the last few weeks have been nothing like that. I’ve found myself hunkering down because of the “freezing” weather and “torrential” rains of the Bay Area.   Although most would argue that the Bay Area is quite temperate compared to–say, South Dakota or Vermont–my own little perspective is quite skewed.    At the end of my work day I race home (where it is already dark), and immediately turn on two heaters and all my Christmas lights… and then I wait… to get warm.  That has been my only quest the past few weeks–other than shopping for a new car. I don’t want to go out and do anything else.  Why?…because it’s too cold and wet and dark!!!
As I was casually relaying these sentiments to a colleague at work today, I suddenly started to actually hear myself!  And it made me think, “Omigosh…I know weather is a big deal to me, but it’s seriously going to be a problem if I can’t cope with a little rain and cooler weather–like a problem that will last for SIX months out of the year!  I mean, I moved to the Bay Area!…What did I expect??!”  I began to realize that I may be a sucker for sunshine and warm weather…but as long as I’m living here, I can’t just wait around for that kind of weather before  I do anything fun!
So….tonight after getting off work later than expected, I decided to avoid Friday night traffic and kill some time in the city before heading home.  Plus, it’s Christmas and I haven’t even gotten to enjoy the season in the city because I’ve been too busy avoiding the bad weather.  But not tonight.  It was  raining and cold…and I still decided to head to Union Square for some Christmas shopping and stroll around looking at all the holiday decor on the city streets.
And what a night!  It was beautiful and fun! I loved the Christmas tree in Union Square and walking around with my red ubrella, the hustle and bustle of holiday shoppers all around me. I enjoyed it so much that I couldn’t keep from snapping a few shots along the way…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What started out as a resolution to kill time, avoid traffic and get over my aversion to a little rain–ended in a wonderful evening of taking in the feeling of Christmas in the city. Oddly enough, I didn’t even care that it was raining so hard that the bottom 6 inches of my jeans were soaked within minutes!  At one point, I even thought that the rain and cold weather seemed to make it feel even more like Christmas!
LESSON #1: Don’t let the rain stop you.
LESSON #2: Dive into experiencing what this particular place and time have to offer you in this season of life. Don’t let the rain stop you.
LESSON #3: Don’t let the rain stop you.
Did I mention that I don’t want the rain to stop me anymore??
Responses

  1. Ahhh, the Charity I know and love. Glad your adventurous side won out this time because it looks like such a fun evening.

  2. […] having the chance to do this with three amazing friends!  Last Christmas, I enjoyed a solo evening at Union Square during the holidays, which was fun–and the best you’re gonna get when you’re the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

