Posted by: charityliz | January 21, 2011

21 minutes

Last night I discovered something quite useful about Costco, evening workouts and surviving the daylight savings season…all in just 21 minutes!
It was well after dark by the time I arrived home from my commute from the Oakland campus yesterday.  I wanted to go for a walk or jog since I had been couped up in meetings and driving all day, but I decided against it, since I’ve really been trying to “respect the dark” and be a “smart girl” by avoiding solo late night walks/jogs in my neighborhood.
But at the same time, I was super antsy and so desperately wanted just a bit of activity. I didn’t feel like Pilates at home, so I had to think outside the box.  And that’s when it hit me–I had to go to Costco to pick up something anyways, and I decided that Costco seemed like a big enough (and safe) place to do a  decent power-walk.  So, I put on some comfy workout pants and tennis shoes and headed to Costco.
Upon arriving, I endeavored to power-walk every isle of Costco, zizagging the entire store without stopping for samples, or any other new items that caught my eye.  So I did.  And it turns out that zizagging all of Costco at a power-walk pace actually results in a 21 minute workout!  Now this certainly wasn’t my most challenging workout, but it actually warmed me up a little…and it was definitely a good stress reliever in a pinch.
Responses

  1. I take Grams to Super Walmart so she’ll have flat floors, good climate, no wind, rain, or barking dogs. These indoor exercise areas are really the bee’s knees!

  2. So glad to hear that you opted for Costco versus the alternative. It’s seems like a brilliant idea, I must say. Love you!

  3. u crack me up, char!

  4. I love catching up on your life Charity! We (I) would love to see you if you come in town and have time 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

