Posted by: charityliz | July 23, 2011

Hello, So Cal. Nice to see you again.

After living in the Bay Area for a year now, I can honestly say that Nor Cal has a lot of great things–like less traffic than So Cal, better transportation, and probably better food.  And although I’m not anywhere close to moving back here, I have to say that nowhere else in California comes close to So Cal when it comes to beaches, weather…and family.

I woke up this morning to a gorgeous day in the OC, and of course, I had to take full advantage with a SUP session! So Dad joined me for some paddling on the Newport back bay, and I have one word:

G-L-O-R-I-O-U-S!

Besides the fact that I have an amazingly fun Dad who can still keep up with me on a SUP board (and probably pass me up in about every other activity)…I just loved being out on the water today.  We enjoyed sunny weather, perfect 70’s air temp, and surprisingly warm water–which was refreshingly fun to fall/be pushed into.  Even the yachts as a backdrop were cool and so fitting.

I’m seriously feeling blessed that my parents live in a great place to vacation!…and even more blessed to have a good chunk of quality time with them.  After Dad & I went paddling, I joined Mom for some fun quilt/fabric shopping.  Then we all had a nice dinner at home –simple BBQ and wine; just the three of us.

Before coming down here, I was a bit hesitant about a vaca in the OC, but now that I’m here, I realize it’s exactly the kind of R&R and quality time I need right now.

PS: I know all this talk of Nor Cal and So Cal probably has my Central Coast friends/family wondering where they fall on my map–or just wondering if I forgot about ’em! To which I’d say, “Of course not!  Ya’ll know that I think the Central Coast is a category of it’s own and still feels like home to me.”

Responses

  1. Love!

  2. Aaron always says that the ONE thing he misses about So Cal is the beaches with the warm summer waters. Glad you’re enjoying your So Cal vaca!

  3. oohh! SUP and fabric shopping! 2 of my favorite things!!hope u had a great time!!

  4. great seeing u tonight. can get discount tix to dland for $65 reg price $71. let me know if u want it.
    love ya bunches

  5. great pix of u and ur dad. heard from aunt holly tnight. she broke her wrist in 2 places.

  6. Makes me want to do a trip down there! It is so wonderful when home can be a vacation too…We would love to see you next time you’re in town, if you’re not all booked up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

