Posted by: charityliz | September 29, 2011

my prayer

Today is one of those days when it’s not really that easy to blog, but I want to.  Because it’s still part of my story right now. 

A little over a month ago, I found out my Mom has cancer. Since then my faith has been rocked to the core and challenged more than ever before.  But I’m finding strength each day as I choose to hold on to the things I believe to be true about life because of the God I know and love.

Today, Mom had her first chemo treatment.

Even though I’ve known it’s been coming for weeks, I still find myself wishing that it wasn’t the case–praying that God changes things, as I know He can. 

And yet, the Lord’s Prayer has been coming to mind often.  Not that I have always prayed the Lord’s prayer, but I recently heard a sermon on it, and I’ve been reflecting a lot on the “your kingdom come, your will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven” part.   In the end, it’s God’s will that I want.  God isn’t just a magic genie that exists to make life the way I want it.  He’s much bigger and has a genius plan for eternity.  His will is way more than I can grasp most of the time, and especially now.  And yet, I still choose to say, “your will be done on earth as it is in heaven”.

God is definitely a HEALER.  Jesus did all kinds of healing miracles when He was on earth; I’ve been reading about them in the book of Mark this week.  And healing miracles are still happening today, especially in other countries, but also in the U.S.,  so I continue to pray for complete healing for my Mom. 

But above all else, I’m praying in faith, for His will to be done.

 ———–>If you want to know more about my Mom and how our family is doing on this journey together, feel free to read our family blog….

http://www.romanofamily.org/

Out of a desire to encourage each other in this season, my family has collectively decided to start blogging together.  Since we’re all hundreds of miles apart, we want a way to support each other and also a chance to give friends and family updates.  We also want to be open about our journey and the way that our faith helps shape how we view this challenge.

The blog has been an incredible source of encouragement for me.  Not only to see my Mom’s faith in all of this, but also to see the faith and strength of my Dad & siblings.  I am so grateful to have such a wonderful family.

Responses

  1. Charity,
    Like you my walk in faith has been challenged, and like you I find encouragement in the Word. Tonight I was studying Psalm 61 and our bible study at church right now is in Isaiah. We studied chapter 26 through 30 this week. Chapter 26 brought me encouragement. Please know, that I want more than anything for your mom to be healed, but my prayer is that the Lord work his will in our lives through this.
    He is faithful to hear our prayers as supplications. We must continue to pray in faith, unwavering, knowing that His will is beyond our understanding.

    As you can tell, I found the Romano family blog, once I realized that I should check under Word Press.

    Love you,
    Aunt Phil

  2. Great post, sis! I love how you stress the point of the Lord’s Prayer is to have His will be done, not ours. Re-orienting our lives to that is so hard at times.

  3. So sorry to hear about your mom, Charity. I have been walking in the dark valley of chronic illness over the past year. It is so very hard. But faith really becomes real as you have to trust in God’s will even when it seems He is not near. I will be praying for your mom and your sweet family. Sending love.


Leave a Reply

Categories

