Posted by: charityliz | October 20, 2011

without you

I’m not sure why, but when I hear the average song on the radio, I often I think of my faith and the love, doubt, ponderings and struggles that come along with it. And I’m not talking about Christian Radio songs, which would seem a more obvious connection to thinking about my faith (although I like some of those songs too).

I’m talking about songs like “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” by U2 — which resonated with me in college when I was trying to figure out a lot of who God was and what exactly that meant for my life.

Songs like “Strong Enough” by Sheryl Crow. I know, I know…maybe it sounds cheesy to you, but seriously, it’s a valid question to ask when it comes to faith. Are you strong enough to be my man? Sometimes I ponder that question when I’m thinking about God in my life… is He strong enough? (Usually a decided yes surfaces from the depths of my soul). And other times, I’m asking that question more literally from the perspective of a woman who wants to have a man in my life who is strong enough in his faith to help me walk in my faith.

So this week, I was particularly struck by the song “Without You“…which has taken Bay Area pop radio stations by storm. I’ve literally heard it everyday in my car, and yesterday I turned off my car with the song playing on the radio; and hours later after work, I got in my car and the song was playing, almost exactly where it left off. And therein was my sign — I must blog about this!!! And can I just say…I don’ t care if it’s ultra popular; I just really like this song! Way to lay down the beats, Usher & David Guetta!!!

So how does this one relate to my faith?? It reminds me of my deep need for God in my life, and how I’m more and more convinced, with each passing year, that I’d be nowhere without Him. But the more interesting part is that instead of this being a sobering thought, this particular song makes me want to dance! Like it’s almost freeing to say–Yeah, that’s right; without you, God, I would be nothing; I’d be such a mess. “I won’t run, I won’t fly, I will never make it by, without you. uh…without you….you-ooo-o you-oooo-o you-oooo”.  (I’ll spare ya’ll the audio version of what that actually sounded like when I was singing in the car).

So is anyone else out there diggin’ this song, or is it just me??

 

Responses

  1. I’m diggin’ it!

  2. Loved the song, loved the analogy. When we are brought to the core of what really matters, it is always God!

  3. Thinking on my own experience, I agree with your conclusion, Charity. It is exciting and liberating to acknowledge our nothingness without the Lord. Thanks for sharing. It’s hard to explain, but one of the most joyful (not happy, but profoundly liberating and thrilling) portions of my life was when my mom was ill. The cancer wasn’t joyful, obviously. What was joyful and liberating was the knowledge that it was too big a problem for my limited abilities and therefore outside of my responsibility. It was up to God to show Himself faithful and true. And He was. He was there and He was merciful – even in cancer… and for 8 years after her passing. Of course, it didn’t hurt that His mercies included a caring, godly man to sweep me off my feet. 🙂

    Lamentations 3:21-26
    21 Yet this I call to mind
    and therefore I have hope:
    22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
    23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
    24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”
    25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him,
    to the one who seeks him;
    26 it is good to wait quietly
    for the salvation of the LORD.

  4. I like the way your mind works, Charity. 🙂 I definitely do that with songs, too. I like to find God’s truth in songs, both sacred and secular. That U2 song you mentioned was played during the intro of a play I was in. Patrick was in the audience, and that was the beginning of both his journey to salvation and marriage. 🙂

    • That is such a sweet/awesome story for you & Patrick (and U2)! Love it!

  5. I just looked it up just to see, and yes, it sounds practically like a worship song! The UTube video adds to it as well. Charity, if you’re not too busy next time, or sometime, you’re in town, I would love to meet up with you and re-connect! We live so close to Tim and Debra it wouldn’t be too hard…hugs.

    • Hey, Camille! I would LOVE to see you the next time I’m in town as well! I haven’t been down as often this fall (been spending more weekends in OC), but will try to touch base the next time I’m down. Maybe in December.


Leave a Reply

Categories

