Posted by: charityliz | October 29, 2011

Book Review: Heaven is for Real

I remember hearing people rave about this book last Spring sometime, but I finally got around to reading it this Fall.  (Actually, I technically listened to it — gotta love audio books!)

I give it two solid thumbs up, and recommend it to anyone who…

* Struggles with the concept of heaven, whether it really exists, or what it’s like.

* Wants to read a story of how genuine faith plays out in a down-to-earth family, and how it includes wrestling with God, incredible hardship/tragedy, and unanswered questions.

* Enjoys true stories about real-life, down-to-earth people experiencing supernatural things.

* Wonders if God really hears our prayers.

* Needs a serious boost to their faith.

And if all that’s not enough, it became a New York Times Best Seller, more by word of mouth than by anything else!  Christian or not, I think you’ll find it’s worth the read!

My own faith has been so encouraged by this story.  At times, I was brought to tears, not because of some dramatic account of heaven, but because of the piercing, unhindered truth that came through a little boy’s innocently recounted story of his experience.  Everything he shares not only matches the bible (which I believe to be true), but it also rung true to the depths of my soul.  It was like adding to my knowledge of the God I’ve come to know; I was so delighted to learn more of His love and sovereignty.

If anyone wants the audio book files, hit me up…I can probably figure out a way to email them!  Great “listen” for your holiday road trip!
Responses

  1. ok i am hitting you up!! love you and your testimony!! you true and faithful servant. perhaps through this journey you and your family is experiencing someone un-beknown to us shall be saved.

  2. My favorite line…the angels wouldn’t sing “We Will Rock You!” Out of the mouth of babes!

  3. I have wondered what this book is like. I’m glad to hear your thoughts on it. 🙂

  4. Your mom and dad shared this book with us and I just finished it, yes it is
    a great book and would recommend it to anyone!


Leave a Reply

Categories

