Posted by: charityliz | November 13, 2011

mincemeat

So I’m in the process of helping to plan Thanksgiving dinner.  We’re giving Mom a break this year and thankfully I have two amazing sister-in-laws now, who are more than willing to help.

We have all the typical stuff on the menu (stuffing, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green been casserole…oh yeah, and turkey).  And then of course we need desert.  You would think pumpkin pie would be sufficient, but it’s never been that simple for my family.  I think pumpkin pie is just OK, so I always vote for apple pie.  Mom’s also voting for that this year, so we’re making it for sure.  My little brother has requested cherry pie, and of course his loving wife has agreed to make that for him.

And if three pies aren’t enough already, wait until you hear this…my Dad loves mincemeat pie.  It’s his special request every year, even though the rest of us think it’s a s gross as it sounds.  However, being that he’s a man of little demands (and because I’m a Daddy’s girl), I’ve decided that I’ll make him his pie this year.  I say “his” pie because, literally, no one else in my family has any interest in mincemeat pie.

Now, when my mom or grandma have made my Dad’s pie in the past, they just use a jar of mincemeat pie filling.  But this morning I got this bright idea that I should just make it from scratch.  I mean, why not??  We make the other pies from scratch…and after all, I want only the best for my dear old dad.

Well, that was short lived.  When I looked up the recipe, my jaw dropped at the fourth ingredient and I practically gagged by the time I got to the end of list…

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups diced cooked beef
  • 4 cups chopped apples
  • 1 1/2 cups raisins
  • 1/4 cup sweet pickle juice
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 large orange, peeled, sectioned, and cut into bite-size
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup sorghum
  • 1 cup beef broth

Seriously??  That’s disgusting! Sorry, Dad.  I just can’t do it.

But don’t worry, I’ll still buy the jar of mincement and gladly make your pie that way.  🙂

NOTE: mincemeat in a jar does not include meat (thank God!)

 

Responses

  1. In regards to your statement “mincemeat in a jar does not include meat “:
    I beg to differ…. The good stuff does!
    But hey! I’m not picky I’ll take what I can get.
    Love,
    Dad

    P.S. Grandma Gracie likes mincemeat pie too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

