Posted by: charityliz | December 1, 2011

another tree, another year

A lot can change in a year. 

I have a sneaking suspicion that this might be a repeated theme for this season, as I look a back on the past year and feel like there’s been so much change– most of it good.

And tonight, this has especially been on my mind as I decorated my little apartment for Christmas.  I couldn’t help but think back to last year and how I was fighting to convince myself that this new place could feel like home, when in reality I just really missed my old roomies and friends in SLO.

But tonight, I wasn’t alone or missing old friends.  Instead, I was joined by my two favorite little “elves” from downstairs, whom I didn’t even know a year ago.  And they literally filled my apartment with joy and excitement as we decorated my tree, hung Christmas lights,  and gleefully rummaged through my bins of Christmas crap, being sure to fill every nook and cranny with a little holiday spirit.

The high and low for me was when we put out my miniature nativity set, and I asked Sam if he knew who Jesus was.  He said “no”.  And so I tried to fumble through an elementary explanation of the Christmas story with my Spanglish.  It was truly pathetic, and I don’t think Sam understood a thing.  And then his sister, who knew something of the story, helped me out with some translation.   I wish I was a better communicator tonight, but  it was still sweet to try to share with them the very heart of what Christmas means to me.  Hopefully someday we’ll be able to chat more about it, but for now, Jesus is the baby next to the sheep…and He’s a gift to the world.

We topped off the night with mugs of hot cocoa.  And just for kicks, their Mom & I had a our own little hot totties, spiked with a little bit of Kahlua.  What a delicious evening.  

I'm not sure why they insisted on posing with mugs in their faces, but they just weren't in the mood to do the typical "hug & smile" shot

I have no idea what compelled him to strike this pose

 
 
 
Responses

  1. Oh, what the Lord brings in such a short time! Your place looks filled with joy!

  2. Charity,
    Love the photos and your decoration skills at your parent’s home. Your place looks warm and full of joy/love. The kids are lucky to have you as a neighbor.

    It was great seeing you this Thanksgiving. Hope you had a terrific birthday.

    Love you

  3. I love hearing stories about you and your cute little neighbors. So awesome that you are shining Jesus into their lives. Love the little man’s pose!


Leave a Reply

Categories

