Posted by: charityliz | December 9, 2011

The Help

I love novels that are set in historically significant times, offer plenty of social commentary, highlight the ironies of our history, and ultimately inspire me–this is one of those stories! Set in the 1960’s in the deep south, this is a story of several African American maids and their relationship with the white women they work for. The story depicts the way that racial tension defines an entire community, relationships and boundaries therein–and how destructive it all can be. But it also shows how individuals have the capacity to change and decide to go against the grain. It’s a beautiful story of racial reconciliation, redemption, bravery and faith.  I cried after reading the book and missed the characters for weeks after the story was over.  Last night I watched the movie and cried all over again.  I highly recommend the book and the movie.

Responses

  1. My grandma, aunt, and I all read the book and then saw the movie together. It was great. 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you liked the movie. I wanted to watch it too, but heard it was never as good. Now I’m watching it for sure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

