Posted by: charityliz | June 16, 2012

I fried my hair…again

About a year ago, I was sitting across the kitchen table from my mom, just chatting it up…when she suddenly asked, “Charity, what’s going on with your hair?!”

I hesitated, even though I already knew the answer. I had recently bought a new straightener, which was doing a splendid job straightening my hair in just a fraction of time that my old straightener had done. It was just so hot that it took no time at all to get my hair movie-star straight. But after a few weeks of powering through my hair with that thing, I began to notice a certain brittleness in my hair…and eventually I also found that it just wasn’t styling nicely anymore. I didn’t want to admit it, but since my Mom was the only one bold enough to just ask the obvious question, I finally faced the facts… “I don’t know, Mom…but I think I fried it.”

It was indeed fried and frazzled. So I had my stylist cut it really short that next week, and for the past year, I’ve been slowly working toward healthy hair again. I got rid of that deathly straightener, and I even stopped blow-drying my hair for months. I didn’t want anything to do with hot tools until my hair got back to normal. My stylist cut my hair a few weeks back, and after a year of helping me revive my hair, she finally declared that it was finally back to great health. And I have to say…I’ve really enjoyed having it back.

That was supposed to be the end of the “I fried my hair” story….until tonight.

I was enjoying my brother’s new “smores pit” – a fire pit he recently installed in his back yard. After making our scrumptious little smores for the night, we sat around the fire pit for awhile, just chatting and star gazing. I was really enjoying the heat from that fire pit, leaning in as close as I could get…it just felt so good with the warmth radiating off the brick and mixing with the cool night breeze. But unfortunately the breeze got a little strong and those nice little fire pit flames found their way to my lovely locks. I’m not sure when or how it happened, but once I smelled burning hair, I knew all too late that something bad had just occurred. And my Dad and brother, sitting there with me, smelled the evidence as well.

I frantically blurted out as I reached for my hair, “I think I just burned my hair!!!” Again, my Dad and brother agreed. There were no flames on my head or anything, but as I ran my fingers through my hair, I felt the remains– frizzy ends, literally melted together!

I went inside and looked in a mirror, and to my horror, the ends were definitely frazzled on a significant portion of the left side of my head. I was in shock, except for the fact that these sort of things do seem to happen to me. My only consolation was when my brother tried to comfort me by suggesting, “well, at least it will make for a good blog post.”

Responses

  1. aw,.. charity!! i enjoy reading stories about your life. you are such a great writer!

  2. Oh, no!! Hopefully it’s just that one part. It does make for a funny blog post though! 🙂

  3. Poor Charits. It looked like smores burnt your hair too. Oh well, this too shall pass.


Leave a Reply

Categories

