Posted by: charityliz | October 1, 2012

Yosemite, Part 1 — shock & awe

ImageThis weekend I made a serious dent in my bucket list…Yosemite and Half Dome!

 As hard as it is to believe about a girl who loves the outdoors and grew up in California, I had never been to Yosemite! Of course, I’ve seen pictures and heard it was cool; so naturally, it became an item to do on my bucket list.  And that’s where it sat for several years.  But I finally got there this weekend, and I truly was shocked at just how beautiful and dramatic Yosemite is.  We arrived after the sun set, and the full moon was rising when I got my first glimpses of the sheer rock wall of El Capitan — a tower of granite lit up in the moonlight– and I literally gasped in awe as we drove into the valley.  And that was just the beginning of a weekend filled with commanding views of rock formations, forested valley, beautiful waterfalls, sunsets, moon rises, warm breezes…Yosemite had it all!
Image
Image
Image
Responses

  1. I’m sooooo glad that you got to Yosemite. It is a MUST. Especially since we live relatively close.

  2. Yosemite is amazing. If u get a chance visit tuolome too.
    Love u
    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  3. It’s been some time that we had been there. Hopefully it’ll be a trip we can plan in the near future!

  4. Being the negligent parents that we are, we never brought you there. We have visited Yosemite a time or two without you, though, and kept crying about the fact that you weren’t with us (relieved us of a lot of guilt.) 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

