Posted by: charityliz | October 21, 2012

pasta & pears

I’m not sure why, but when the season turns to Fall, I always end up feeling more in the mood to cook.  Tonight was definitely no exception.  I was particularly inspired to return to my Italian roots and whip up some penne pasta (did you know there’s a new kind of pasta out there that is enriched with protein and Omega-3?…I decided to try it and it’s pretty good!).  I tossed the pasta in rosemary olive oil, along with some chopped roma tomatoes and fresh basil and  Smoked Apple Chardonnay chicken sausage , topped with parmesan cheese. Yum!
My side salad was one of my simple favorites–fresh arugula tossed with lemon olive oil and blackberry balsamic vinegar (oil and vinegar compliments of We Olive in Paso Robles, CA).
Of course, cooking a “real meal” makes me feel like it’s truly an occasion, so I popped open a bottle of Tractor Shed Red (thanks to Costco!), and it was a delicious compliment to my well rounded meal.
But the real kicker was dessert.  I had a couple of Asian pears sitting in my fridge that I had forgotten about, and I have always wanted to try broiled pears…so I did.  And they were absolutely delicious, and quite simple to make!
The only bummer was that Jason wasn’t around to benefit from my culinary efforts tonight. Unfortunately, for better or worse, he tends to land in my kitchen during my less-inspired moments.
Responses

  1. Come land some creative inspiration in our kitchen any day


Leave a Reply

Categories

