Posted by: charityliz | October 21, 2012

texas

My first look at Texas was about 20 years ago, when I drove through the panhandle during a family road trip across the U.S.  All I remember about Texas was a very boring interstate peppered with trash cans and rest stops, all adorned with the state slogan at the time, “Don’t Mess with Texas”.

My second and more recent tour (i.e. last weekend) in Texas was much different.  Rather than being met with threats about messing with Texas, I was welcomed with open arms by true locals.  Jason’s family and friends were very warm and sweet, as I got a lesson on true southern hospitality. But dare I say, I wasn’t hard to win over. Even though I’m a proud California girl, I rocked my cowboy boots and embraced the heat and humidity with the best of ’em. And as soon as I discovered that I could jump in the local river and experience swimming in warm, clear spring water in the middle of October, I was sold! If it weren’t for the fact that I live in THE most beautiful state in the union, I might have just left my heart right there in the Lone Star State!

 

Jason’s dad has a fun set of wheels, and the weather was definitely warm enough to enjoy the top down

river running through New Braunfels, TX

showing me how a true Texan enjoys the river!

rehearsal dinner = Oktoberfest Theme

the groom and all his buddies

on our way to the wedding

San Antonio Riverwalk

Jason & parents

Responses

  1. Nice trip! Thanks for the update!

  2. Aw! I love your Texas pictures!! You two are sooooo sweet 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

