Posted by: charityliz | April 8, 2013

engaged!

A little over two years ago I met a guy at a little Mexican taqueria–  errr, ok, ok…we actually met online and then we met at the taqueria. 😉 He knew I was special, and I knew he was nice, so we went out a few more times. Fun fact: he was that guy I was with during my infamously embarrassing “mystery liquid” date! That was just the beginning…
After another date or two, we decided to be “just friends”…and that lasted for a long time. And we became good friends. Then he went to France to study for 9 months. I missed him and he missed me, so five months later he came back for a visit and decided he ought to start dating me, lest I get swiped up by someone else! I was thrilled.
Fast forward through a year of dating (i.e. many joys and challenges of relationship-building and lots of sweet adventures together). On our way to visit my family for Easter, he decided to turn a family day into a once-in-a-lifetime day.  The setting was perfect– a warm and sunny afternoon in the picturesque town of Paso Robles. We started with a relaxing lunch at a lovely French bistro and then went wine tasting at a beautiful winery just a few minutes outside of town. At special moments in the afternoon, he presented me with a series of three love notes, titled FaithHope and Charity— each an expression of a theme in our relationship and a reminder of God’s work in our lives. Then, at just the right moment, with the vineyards as a backdrop, he presented me with the ring that I had wanted, and he asked the question that I was anticipating. And of course, I said Yes! It was a fantastic moment for both of us. I will always cherish it.
Then we went to my brother’s home just a few minutes away, and we were greeted by my immediate family, who I expected to be there for Easter. But I was so excited to see them I could barely contain myself long enough to give them all hugs and then I just exclaimed, I’m engaged!! Of course they already knew because Jason had made sure they would be there to celebrate with us. But the real surprise was when his parents popped out of the living room at that moment.  I was shocked to see them, and absolutely amazed at the beauty of having our families together to celebrate with us. And that’s what we did for the rest of the weekend!
Jason gave me more than I could have ever asked for in a proposal — a thoughtful, romantic and private day in wine country, celebrating the love that God has given us, followed by celebration with both of our families. It was perfect.
Looking back over my many years of being single and thriving, I marvel at how God seemed to know that one day I would also be thriving with a man by my side. It’s still a bit of a mystery to me that God was able to orchestrate our lives so that we would meet and grow together in just the right timing. I could never have written this beautiful story for myself, and once again, as with many things in my life, I’m humbled and incredibly grateful that God is far more creative at authoring my life than I could ever be!

image

 

image1

 

Responses

  1. God is definitely an amazing story writer for sure! Love your story! I met my fiance the same way too! 🙂

  2. Woo Hoo!!!! Many many congrats to you two!!!! Hopefully one day our paths will cross again and we can meet him in person!

    Much love!
    The Patterson Clan

  3. LOVE this Charity. He is sure one blessed guy! God is faithful and knows what we need. Love you and hope I get to meet him someday.

  4. He’s a keeper! I like him already! 🙂 So excited for you… congratulations, Charity!!

  5. Congrats Charity! I would love to see you if you are ever in town and have time (I know you are busy with the fam!) I’m really, really happy for you and count myself lucky to witness God create such a great story for your life.

  6. love and blessings -to you life takes many turns but to start a commitment with God can only strengthen your love over the years

  7. Charity,
    I am so happy for you. May your lives be filled with love, joy, good health and happiness.
    Love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

