Posted by: charityliz | July 27, 2013

the end of an era

This is my last Saturday with coffee in bed as a single woman, and since it’s often been one of my favorite times to reflect on life and blog a bit, I am inspired to pause (which is quite challenging with wedding stuff swamping my brain) and appreciate the moment.

Recently my dear friend wrote about her engagement, relating it to a song that I’ve always loved that I learned back in college when I was in the Gospel Choir — I’ve got a Testimony. And today that song is running through my head as well, like a sweet song of joy rising up from my soul, reminding me to reflect and testify!

As I look back over my life
And I think things over
I can truly say that I’ve been blessed
I’ve got a testimony!

As I look back over my life
And I think things over
I can truly say that He’s brought me all the way.
I’ve got a testimony!

My testimony today is that I’ve been through many seasons of life–I’ve had friends, and I’ve been lonely. I’ve moved to new places, I’ve been stuck in places, I’ve started new jobs and sometimes they’ve been really hard or boring, and sometimes I’ve loved them. I’ve joined new churches and prayed new prayers, and old ones too. I’ve had heartache and I’ve wondered why God allows so much pain and why He heals, but not always. I’ve enjoyed so many great adventures, and I’ve found my happy place in the outdoors over and over again. I’ve started new hobbies and then lost them. I’ve journaled and then stopped and then started again, and blogging seems to be the same way. I’ve been a cool kid and I’ve been an outsider. I’ve been insecure, and then I’ve found confidence. I’ve watched my family grow, and on holidays I’ve gone from being at the "kids table" to being an Auntie. I’ve found great wisdom in books and in mentors. Over and over again, I’ve been inspired by the words found in the Bible and then by people who have faith and live in a way that makes those words come alive to me. Sometimes I have that kind of faith and sometimes I don’t. Sometimes I’m selfish (OK, a lot of times)…and there are also a lot of times where my joy comes in taking care of others. I’ve made mistakes and I’ve hurt people, and I’ve experienced sweet forgiveness and redemption. I get excited about new things, and I also can be really afraid of the unknowns in the future. I’ve gone years without going on a date, and then I’ve been on some random ones, and then I’ve fallen in love!

All of these little seasons have happened within a bigger season, or more like an era of life, which I have become so fond of–singleness.

The seasons we go through and the ebb and flow of life is beautiful, but also challenging and incredibly mysterious, in the sense that I never know quite what the next season or era will bring. But my testimony is that my God has been with me through all those seasons and I am absolutely confident that He will be with me through all the coming seasons! He’s been the rock, the one steadfast source of peace, hope and love– which is there regardless of who I am or what I’m going through.

And although this is just another Saturday with Him in my life, I’m also at the brink of a new era — marriage! I’m excited and I’m feeling blessed and lucky to have a partner to experience seasons with me! And (honestly) at times I get a little fearful thinking about the challenges that will also inevitably come our way. But if this era of marriage is anything like my era of singleness, I have nothing to fear and everything to hope for!

Hallelujah!
Give thanks to the Lord,
for He is good!
His faithful love endures forever!
Psalm 106:1

Responses

  1. PS: And I hope the next “era” will bring a rekindled season of blogging too! This dry spell has been crappy — I miss latitude37!

  2. Amen and amen.† Your life will be many things, but knowing our faithful Lord is with us makes me feel secure especially when I am not feel strong, loved or secure.† Your life is a testimony to many of us because we see you whether life’s trials with steadfast hope (Hebrews 11:1). † Enjoy your last weekend as a single woman. † Carpe diem † Love you

    >________________________________ > From: latitude37 >To: poudmayer@yahoo.com >Sent: Saturday, July 27, 2013 10:34 AM >Subject: [New post] the end of an era > > > WordPress.com >charityliz posted: “This is my last Saturday with coffee in bed as a single woman, and since it’s often been one of my favorite times to reflect on life and blog a bit, I am inspired to pause (which is quite challenging with wedding stuff swamping my brain) and appreciate th” >

  3. This is really beautiful, Charity. Cheers to your marriage and to your continued adventures with God as your rock!

  4. Your words pierced my heart and reverberated throughout my soul.

    There is NO one like our God!


Leave a Reply

Categories

