Posted by: charityliz | September 10, 2013

embracing life

My dad texted me this precious picture of my mom and nieces today, and as soon as a I saw it my heart was filled with joy and deep gratitude. And, of course, I couldn’t help but blog [i.e. gush] about it.

Just over two years ago, Mom was diagnosed with metastatic cancer; that big girl on the right in this photo was only a couple months old at the time, and she was Mom’s first and only grand-baby. We (our family) and the doctors didn’t know what was going to happen with Mom, but we started praying for God’s healing and we prayed for the doctors to have wisdom on her treatment and for Mom to have strength and hope…and for God’s will. It’s been a long road, with plenty of challenges, but we keep on praying…and here she is over two years later – with another grand-baby in her arms! And there’s even a third one that also joined the family about a year ago (not shown in this photo)! It’s incredible to me that my mom is truly embracing life now, and it reminds me of the scripture:

"Since his days have been determined, the number of months is known to you. You’ve set his limit and he cannot exceed it." – Job 14:5

And so I praise God for the life He gives and even the limits He sets. Knowing that He determines the number of our days and that He is good, I choose to trust Him for continued healing, and ultimately for His will to be done in our lives.

Responses

  1. the girls are absolutely adorable and your mom looks great too.

  2. Wonderful picture! Blessings abound!

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Charity- I am so, so thankful that your mom is here to enjoy life and enjoy her granddaughters. We are blessed to still have both of our moms after the past 2 years!

  4. SO good, friend! AND in these last two years, your mom got to celebrate your engagement and marriage. God is so sovereign and good. 🙂

  5. Somehow just saw this. My heart too is full with God’s amazing healing and grace poured out on your mom. I love that lady!


Leave a Reply

Categories

