Posted by: charityliz | January 18, 2014

blips

I can’t believe how quickly the last few months have been flying by!  Each month, I look back at all the little random events and epiphanies, and think to myself, “I really need to blog about that.”  And then the thought escapes me as quickly as it had come — like a blip.  And time runs away from me and I realize that there’s no way that I have the hours or minutes to sit down and write a coherent, nicely contextualized blog about any of the given topics. And what’s worse, none of them are relevant or comprehensive enough to write a substantial blog about anyways.  They’re just little blips that get cached away into my overflowing mental blog file.  And today I realized that it’s time to clean up the file! I must unload.  So please forgive the wave of blips that are about to pour out of my stream-of-consciousness. This is pure desperation; the blips must be blipped – I mean, blogged.

blip

We had a great Thanksgiving with my family in the OC. Jason wanted to make sure we all knew what a real southern Pecan Pie should taste like.  He used his momma’s recipe and it was a big hit.

IMG_0563

blip

Maybe it’s the cold weather, or maybe it’s just that I’d rather not be working right now, but I’ve been reminiscing about my honeymoon lately and realizing I never even posted pictures.  Ahhh, to go back to this place…

IMG_0500DSCN1179DSCN1210photo (10)

blip

Even though I miss Hawaii, there are still some great things about the Bay Area.  We took full advantage of the holidays in the big city and did the urban thing — spent a day at Union Square, admiring the tree and all the decorations at Macy’s.  We even kicked off one of our first family traditions– picking out an ornament to remember this year.

Union Square

Union Square

first family ornament

first family ornament

blip

Have you ever heard that song Let Me Love You by Ne Yo?  This has been one of my favorite songs to jog to lately, and it’s also one of those songs that reminds me of the way God loves us.  Yes– sometimes I do that weird thing where I take a secular song and make it relevant to my soul.  But it’s good!  And it also reminds me of my friend Tanya, who is the queen of running to good jams and letting them encourage her soul!  This one’s for you, T!

Link to the song–not the original music video because it’s a bit raunchy (I know, I know– ironic!). Link to lyrics

blip

One of my favorite new recipe discoveries is a french rustic dessert/breakfast pastry.  Unlike most french recipes, it’s surprisingly easy to make.  It only requires a few basic ingredients, it works great in a cast-iron skillet, it’s perfect for dessert or brunch, and it’s delicious.  Behold, the clafoutis…

I like this recipe best, and it works great with frozen blueberries!

pear clafoutti; served for dessert

pear clafoutti; served for dessert

blip

This past Christmas was my first Christmas ever without my family. I was in Texas with Jason’s family and it was wonderful. Of course, I missed seeing my parents and sibs and our little traditions, but it was a joy to be part of the new “other half” of the family. And, what’s not to like about being in Texas?? I brought my cowgirl boots and wore them proudly.  I discovered chips and queso on a whole new level.  Oh, and Texas BBQ! We toured Austin, which reminded me more of San Francisco than Texas — but it was still cool! We even went to a honky-tonk, and sat around listening to a true country band and drinking beer. As I’ve always expected, I’m a natural at picking up the sweet Texan accent — I may not speak French, but at least I can speak his native tongue! 😉  Lastly, I saw the world’s biggest truck stop, Buc-ee’s, and was totally impressed by their selection of road trip goodies in the not-so-mini-mart, not to mention their meticulously clean toilets.  Oh, and did I mention there’s over 100 gas pumps??

20140116-214455.jpg

Christmas Eve with the Lewallens

Christmas Eve with the Lewallens

Austin

Austin

a real, genuine honky-tonk

a real, genuine honky-tonk

blip

We roasted our first chicken in our new dutch oven!  It turned out pretty good, and it looked nice too, but I forgot to take a picture.  Then a few days later, we gave it another whirl and roasted in a cast iron skillet.  It turned out a bit charred on account of our oven being a uber small.  [Side note: A few friends told me I should start writing a blog on the stuff we cook in our oven, because it really is tiny– as in the size of a microwave.  It actually is a microwave and a convection all rolled into one]. Anyways, that second bird still tasted delicious, but it looked like it was tortured in that oven and it made us both laugh…

IMG_0667

Whew!  That’s all for now folks!  I hope to blog more in the new year– as in, it’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions.  Hopefully it won’t be so blippy in the future.

Leave a Reply

Categories

