Posted by: charityliz | July 8, 2014

Hume Lake Vaca

I’ve always wanted to take a family vacation with my brothers and (if any of us had them) our kids.  So of course, I was thrilled when my big brother and his wife asked Jason and I to join them on their family vacation at Hume Lake.  Unfortunately my little brother couldn’t make it, but it was still really fun to have a chance to spend some sibling time, and it was especially wonderful to spend time with my two adorable nieces!

It was also interesting to return to the camp at Hume Lake where I made so many fond memories during my teenage years; I went to the Christian camp there every summer during Jr/Sr High School.  Although we didn’t participate in the camp activities this week, hearing and seeing those energetic-crazy-eyed high schoolers reminded me of my life back then, the sweet way that the Lord was guiding my steps and how very little I knew about the future He had for me.  Fifteen years later, I’ve lived in 4 new places, earned a couple of degrees, enjoyed a career that I had no idea even existed, experienced many deep and wonderful friendships, and got married. Oh — and I can even run around that big lake now– something I would have never dreamed of doing when I was in high school!  Through all of it, I’ve seen how faithful God has been.  I recently ran across this bookmark that I kept with me for many years in one of my old bibles – it was a keepsake to remember a commitment I had made to God during one of my first trips to Hume Lake.  I know, I know — it seems like one of those typical mountain highs that so many Christian kids experience at camp and then when they head down the mountain it usually all goes to pot (pun intended). In some ways, I was no exception — but in other ways, I can see how God used even those early years to begin to instill a foundation of faith in me that has carried me through, though it has not been without some hefty storms, distractions and plain ole failures.  Even at that young, naive age, I knew there was something grounding about a God who was always going to love, provide and protect– and all I could hope for is that I wouldn’t forget that wonderful Gift:

 

Flashback to my own spiritual walk in 1992, "Always stay with God, don't ignore him."

Flashback to my own spiritual walk in 1992, “Always stay with God, don’t ignore him.”

 

Besides those little moments of reflecting on my life, we did lots of hiking around, swimming in the lake and pool, chillin’ out together, and eating malts (my fav treat from the Snack Shack that I frequented in high school).  I got a few good runs around the lake in, and we also got to play with my Stand Up Paddle boards. We were totally disconnected from cell reception and internet as well, so I think this was the most relaxed vacation I’ve had in years!

Slideshow of week:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 More pics on Tim & Debra’s blog

 

Responses

  1. Precious how God has kept you. Faithful is He!

  2. Looks like a great time was had by all! Great pics from you and tim/debra. You’re right the girls are adorable and fearless.
    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T


Leave a Reply

Categories

